Nostalgia Strikes

I have found myself to be very nostalgic lately, daydreaming of the past. I looked up nostalgia in the dictionary and the definition is:

a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness of a former place or time.

I suppose this is absolutely correct, although this definition makes what I am feeling sound a lot worse than I actually feel. My nostalgia comes down to 2 things; winter and boredom. First of all, my happiest memories are in the summer and often take place outdoors. I adore nature and already hate being stuck indoors. Secondly, I hate that my workload is not overwhelming. I want to be doing 10 things at once, but I’m not and I can’t until I begin my career. The thought of beginning my communications career at a great company gets me so excited! Succeeding at work, balancing work around the house, husband, spiritual life, friends, and family sounds like a dream come true. I miss the busy days at Purdue with 3 internships and a full class load. Sure it seemed like hell at the time, but the feeling of accomplishment is worth all of it. I’m an overachiever and I don’t care who knows it! It is more fun to be spontaneous or treat yourself if you are working hard for it.

Examples:

  • Before Stephen and I were married and were maintaining our long distance relationship, we would work so hard to get everything done during the week so we could enjoy a carefree weekend with each other.

  • Working our tails off in classes and RA-ing before spring break made the cruise even more enjoyable.

  • And of course, there was no better feeling than graduating and going to London after 4 long years of hard work

It’s funny how the torture seems to be forgotten and only the best memories are recalled when feeling nostalgic. For now, I will keep as busy as I can at home; probably begin to study for the GRE (grad school at Northwestern is the goal!), and continue to reminisce about the good old days 🙂

About rennabrunton

Hello! I am a very passionate and energetic individual. I take on way too much and it is the right amount for me. I majored in public relations and advertising at Purdue University and absolutely love it! I have had many communication internships and was a Resident Assistant at Purdue Hilltop Apartments looking after 81 residents. One of the best things in my life is my husband Stephen. We got married in May 2009 and are inseparable best friends; I can’t imagine life without him. We both graduated in May 2011 and embarked on a huge adventure spending 3 weeks in London participating in a Study Abroad. After our trip to England we have begun our lives in Chicago. Feel free to check out my linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rennabrunton or follow me on twitter: @RennaBrunton Live for Love Renna Brunton
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

